30 before 30 - progress · Food · Volunteering

20. Go to a festival

I used to go to Reading Festival as a teenager, but it’s been a long, long time since I went to a proper music festival. When I wrote my list I originally intended this entry to be a music festival, but looking at line-ups over the summer left me feeling uninspired. So when my gorgeous sister Jane texted to ask if I fancied a weekend at Edinburgh Fringe Festival with her, Charlie and Max, I jumped at the chance! Edinburgh Festival’s been on my wish-list for a long time, and it was so great!

We stayed right on the Royal Mile in a huge flat which ticked off a number of Scottish stereotypes, most notably the obsession with tartan. There were plenty of other stereotypes we were able to tick off in the surrounding streets, such as bagpipe players and haggis (yuck!!):

Luckily for me, all of my companions had previously attended the Festival so were very happy to take charge and decide our itinerary, book shows, suggest restaurants and pubs, and generally make my time there incredibly straightforward. As an insane control freak letting go does not come naturally to me, but I had such a good time – note to self, chill the f- out!!

We saw some incredible shows, such as BabushkaMax and Ivan and The Pianist, did a tour of the Edinburgh Gin Distillery, drank a lot, ate a lot, and laughed more than I’ve done for months. The weather was sunny for the whole of our trip, and the atmosphere of the city was brilliant – it was so much fun to wander the streets and be able to pop in to shows that caught our eye, and explore bits of the city we wouldn’t necessarily visit on an average tourist trip.

I’m already planning my trip back next year – but there is one thing I think I’d do differently next time, and that is not attempt a run whilst I’m there. A 10k through Edinburgh was very picturesque, but my god it was hilly!! My legs hated me!! Anyway, thank you so much for the best weekend, Jane, Max and Charlie, you’re awesome! xx

20160822_104148

One thought on “20. Go to a festival

Leave a Reply

