30 before 30 - progress

5. Go a week without Googling anything

One of the things I’ve always admired about my Nan is that if she doesn’t know the answer to something, she’ll take her time to work it out: if she can’t solve it logically she’ll ask around, use books, and will only ask me to Google something as a very last resort.

I wanted to see how I’d get on with a week of no instant answers, and decided to give myself a break from almost all Internet-reliant apps and sites at the same time. I allowed myself to use only three things that work via the Internet (WhatsApp for messaging, Strava for running, and Duolingo to keep up with my language learning), and decided Christmas would be a good time for an Internet switch-off.

I enjoyed my Internet break so much that I extended my week to eight days: from Christmas Eve until New Years Day. I found it really peaceful and surprisingly restful. It’s made me aware of how much time I can free up by not mindlessly scrolling through social media or half-reading news stories, and reminded me of how nice it can be to go through the process of actually using your brain to work out an answer.

I think 2017 is going to be a year of switching off from technology a bit more, and appreciating my surroundings rather than staring at at screen. That’s probably as close as I’ll get to a New Years resolution, and I hope very much that I can stick to it.

Wishing you all a very Happy New Year! X

One thought on “5. Go a week without Googling anything

Leave a Reply

